List of Indian Prime Ministers with their Tenure – Important for Exams

India got freedom on 15th August 1947. That was the first time when any Indian Prime Minister had held the office. We are compiling list of Prime Ministers who have ever held this office with their tenure. It shall be very beneficial for our viewers especially the students to learn.

In some exams and especially in the Quiz Contests, there are questions about Indian Prime Ministers and their terms. Check the list below containing the names of all the Prime Ministers of India along with their tenure.

Pt Jawahar Lal Nehru – He became the first PM of India. His tenure was from 15th of August 1947 to 27th of May 1964

Guljari Lal Nanda – He was the acting Prime Minister from 27th of May 1964 to 9th of June 1964

Lal Bahadur Shastri – He is known for his simplicity and tenacity. His death at Tashkent was a big mystery.He held the office from 9th of June 1964 to 11th of Jan 1966

Guljari Lal Nanda – He again worked as an acting PM from 11th of January 1966 to 24th of January 1966

Indira Gandhi – She was the first Woman Indian Prime Minister.  Her PM term was from 24th of Jan 1966 to 24th of March 1977

List of Indian Prime Ministers with their Tenure

Morarji Desai – From 24th of March 1977 to 28th of July 1979. People remember him more for his strange eating and drinking habits.

Ch Charan Singh – From 28th of July 1979 to 14th of January 1980

Indira Gandhi – She again regained the Power on 14th of January 1980 and remained on the post till 31st of October 1984 when she was assassinated.

Rajeev Gandhi – After Indira Gandhi, her elder son Rajeev Gandhi became the Prime Minister of India. His tenure as the PM was 31st October 1984 to 2nd December 1989.

Vishwanath Pratap Singh – From 2nd December 1989 to 10th Nov 1990

Chandrashekhar – From 10th Nov 1990 to 12th June 1991.

P.V. Narsimha Rao – 21st June 1991 to 15th May 1996

Atal Bihari Vajpayee – From 16th of May 1996 to 31st of May 1996

H.D Devegowda – From 1st of June 1996 to 21st of April 1997

Indra Kumar Gujaral – From 21st of April 1997 to 19th of March 1998

Atal Bihari Vajpayee – He became Prime Minister again on 13th of October 1999 till 22nd of May 2004

Dr Manmohan Singh – His tenure is from 22nd of May 2004 to 21st of May 2009

Dr Manmohan Singh – People elected him again to work as Prime Minister from 22nd of May 2009 to 17th of June 2014

Narendra Modi – He held the post on 26th of May 2014. He became the 14th Prime Minister of India. In his short-term so far, he has become a global leader.

Join the Discussion